American Apparel only hires Black girls with “nice hair”

14 Jun

Over the weekend my cousin had on a really cute American Apparel dress that she bought for only $5.  When doing a search on the company this morning, I was hit with news that American Apparel only wants a certain type of Black female to work at their stores.  I’m in complete shock, as former employees expose this and other dirty little secrets.  They tell all in a lengthy documentation which exposes all of their ugly new guidelines from how employees should wear make-up to the shoes on their feet.  A former manager states instructions about how to hire Black girls during their open calls. 

“none of the trashy kind that come in, we don’t want that. we’re not trying to sell our clothes to them. try to find some of these classy black girls, with nice hair, you know?”

Well I won’t be shopping there any more.  I’ll keep my dollars in my pockets since they are not trying to sell to anyone like me.

 To read more on this story go to Gawker.com or click the link below. http://gawker.com/5560215/american-apparels-new-standard-no-uglies-allowed

One Response to “American Apparel only hires Black girls with “nice hair””

  1. Nicole June 15, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    So that’s interesting cuz I bought stiuff there like last week and the girl had nappy hair.I think they like chicks with natural hair..also they have a thing for preppy looking chicks..you have to be really polished looking.

Leave a Reply

